Upcoming Matches: Week of October 18-21

October 18, 2017

Thursday, October 19
11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT – ESPN 2
Gabriel Rosado vs. Glen Tapia; Alejandro Barrera vs. Keandre Gibson

Rosado (23-11, 13 KOs) is coming off of a split-decision loss to England’s Martin Murray in April. Tapia (23-4, 15 KOs) is coming off of three back-to-back losses, two by stoppage. Both fighters have names that are known by fans, and it’ll probably be an action-oriented fight.

Barrera (29-3, 18 KOs) won a split decision in July over Eddie Gomez. One fight prior, Barrera was stopped by Errol Spence. Gibson (17-1, 7 KOs) was last seen in June defeating Dennis Dauti by unanimous decision, but one fight earlier lost by stoppage to Antonio Orozco. This should be an entertaining crossroads type of fight.

Saturday, October 21
2:30pm ET/11:30am PT – Sky Sports (UK)
Ryan Burnett vs. Zhanat Zhakiyanov

Burnett (17-0, 9 KOs) is the IBF bantamweight world champion, facing WBA bantamweight super world champion Zhakiyanov (27-1, 18 KOs). Burnett is coming off an impressive decision win over Lee Haskins in June, while Zhakiyanov’s last bout was a February split decision win over Rau’shee Warren. Both fighters are quality, so this should be an engaging bout.

9:30pm ET/6:30pm PT – ITV (UK), Audience Network (US)
Murat Gassiev vs. Krzysztof Wlodarczyk

The next installment of the World Boxing Super Series tournament sees 24-year-old Gassiev (24-0, 17 KOs) squaring off against 36-year-old Wlodarczyk (53-3, 37 KOs). Gassiev is the IBF cruiserweight world champion whose last fight was a tough decision against Denis Lebedev last December. Wlodarczyk’s last bout was a split decision win against then-undefeated Noel Gevor in May. This should be a fascinating mash-up of age and experience levels.

10:05pm ET/7:05pm PT – HBO
Jezreel Corrales vs. Alberto Machado; Demetrius Andrade vs. Alantez Fox

WBA Super World super featherweight titleholder Corrales (22-1, 8 KOs) faces Machado (18-0, 15 KOs), who is ranked #4 in the division by the WBA. Corrales’ last out was a technical decision over Robinson Castellanos in July, while Machado was last in the ring in August, winning a decision over Carlos Morales. Both boxers come to fight.

Andrade (24-0, 16 KOs) faces Fox (23-0, 11 KOs) in Andrade’s first official fight at middleweight (moving up from light middleweight). Fox has been competing at 160 since 2013. Facing an undefeated fighter in his first bout at a new weight is a tall order, but Andrade’s level of opposition has been quite good through most of his career, so it’s likely not asking too much of him. This should be a fun and telling bout for both boxers.

Tags
            Array
(
)
                        
Boxers
Loading...